top of page
  • Writer's pictureRissy

Look Around You

Hey guys, have you noticed something that's wrong in our world? It's okay if you haven't noticed, but I have. I've been seeing a lot, from adults, high schoolers, and even kids. If you ask me it's just sad and now I'll tell you what's wrong with our world.

Devices.

Every single one of them.

Now, I understand that you have to use them for work and school, I understand that those are important parts of life, but there is something that you don't need to check five hundred times a day and that's your phone. Okay, so you probably don't check it that many times but it will surprise you how many times you do check it. You probably do it without even realizing it.

Have you noticed what your phone is doing to you? Probably not because you're addicted to the device, it's like it's part of you. Like, it controls you. Now, I'm not saying it's a robot or anything, but it is making you a robot or at least similar to a robot, and here's my evidence.

  1. People don't talk anymore. We sit right beside each other and don't even talk except by typing out messages and sending emojis and gifs...what are you doing? They are sitting right beside you!

  2. Nobody smiles at each other. We're all too busy scrolling through FaceBook and Instagram to look up at someone passing by and give them a smile. We can't tear our eyes away from the pointless entertainment in front of us. It's sad.

  3. We are becoming mindless. We no longer communicate with each other we trust whatever the news, FaceBook, or the latest trending Hollywood Star tells us. You ever heard the old rock song 'Give us Dirty Laundry'? Look it up, because that's what all these outlets are doing.

Now, here's what I propose. Lay your phone down. I'm not saying you can't do any of this stuff unless you put your phone down, but in all likelihood, you won't do any of it if your phone is in your hands. I cannot make you put your phone down, that's your decision. But I can, and will, invite you to put it down and look around. Put the phone down for just five minutes, I promise it's not going to kill you and your phone is not going to run away. If either of these things happens you can blame me, but I promise they won't.

Trust me, I believe in you. If you do this it will make the whole world different, and better. For once you will actually see the world around you through your own eyes, not someone else's. You will see what our Wonderful Creator has made just for us! It's been right in front of you this whole time but you didn't notice because you were too busy with your phone.

That phone is taking over your life, but you don't have to let it. Fight back. There is so much good in the world and so much we miss out on because of our addiction to a box of wires.

So, I'm going to ask you one more time to put the phone down. Go on vacation with your family, plan the trip together, or just get out and see the world. The world that the God that loves you dearly and sent His only Son to die for you, made for you! He did it for a purpose and a good one too, He loves you and that's why He did it! He did it to show us beauty so that we could see new wonders all the time, every day! So that we could see what a Great Creator He is and glorify Him with our own eyes and mouths. So that we could admire it all and praise His holy name.

Please, friends, I'm asking you to do this not for me, but for you and for the glory of our Creator.


I hope you get something out of this as I did. Just know that our Creator died for you and that he loves you. That He made all these beautiful things just for you to see. Open your eyes to the world around you.

My God bless each and every one of you

Your Friend,

Rissy

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page